Who We Are

Administration

Affiliated Faculty & Lecturers

Director: 

Elizabeth Wood
History
E51-282
(617) 253-3255
elizwood@mit.edu

Program Manager: 
Emily R.Neill
14E-316a
(617) 253-2642
erneill@mit.edu

Administrative Assistant: 
Sophia M. Hasenfus
14E-316c
(617) 253-8844
shasen@mit.edu

Librarian: 
Jennifer Greenleaf 
MIT Libraries
jgleaf@mit.edu

Sandy Alexandre
Literature
14N-422
(617) 253-4450
alexandy@mit.edu

Arthur Bahr 
Literature
14N-424
(617) 253-3616
awbahr@mit.edu

Tuli Banerjee
Global Initiatives
W98-600
x8-6745
tuli@mit.edu

Ed Bertschinger
ICEO
37-627
(617) 324-7319
edbert@mit.edu

Eugenie Brinkema
Literature
14N-408
(617) 253-3068
brinkema@mit.edu

Manduhai Buyandelger
Anthropology
E53-335S
(617) 324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Chris Capozzola
History
E51-284
(617) 452-4960
capozzol@mit.edu

Andrea Campbell
Political Science
E53-461
(617) 452-2295
acampbel@mit.edu

Brittany Charlton
Women's & Gender Studies
14E-316, 3-8844
bcharlton@mail.harvard.edu

Ian Condry
Global Studies & Languages
CMS/W
14N-303
(508) 314-2567
condry@mit.edu

Sasha Costanza-Chock
CMS/W
E15-317
(607) 351-5559
schock@mit.edu

Misty De Berry
WGS Predoctoral Fellow
14N-221b

Michel Anne-Frederic DeGraff
Linguistics
32-D826
(617) 258-5270
degraff@mit.edu

Amah Edoh
Global Studies & Languages
14N-329A
(617) 715-4119
medoh@mit.edu

Lerna Ekmekcioglu
History
E51-273
(617) 253-9621
lerna@mit.edu

Elizabeth Fox
CMS/W
E39-115A
(617) 253-3090
emfox@mit.edu

Mary Fuller
Literature
14N-405
(617) 253-8848
mcfuller@mit.edu

Laura Finch
Literature
14N-438
(617) 253-3521
lafinch@mit.edu

Lorgia García-Peña
Visiting MLK Scholar
14N-425
(617) 253-3060
lgp@mit.edu

Sally Haslanger
Linguistics/Philosophy
32-D926
(617) 253-4458
shaslang@mit.edu

Stefan Helmreich 
Anthropology
E53-335Q
(617) 253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

Heather Hendershot
CMS/W
E15-324
(617) 324-4038
hshot@mit.edu

Diana Henderson
Literature
14N-418
(617) 253-5147
dianah@mit.edu

Caley Horan
History
E51-296G
(617) 324-7321
cdhoran@mit.edu

Erica C. James
DUSP
9-527
(617) 253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Elizabeth Janiak
Lecturer
ejaniak@mit.edu

Caroline Jones
Architecture
3-303A
(617) 253-5932
cajones@mit.edu

Graham Jones
Anthropology
E53-335P
(617) 715-4969
gmj@mit.edu

Chivi Kapungu
Women’s & Gender Studies
14E-316
(617) 253-8844
ckapu@mit.edu

Wyn Kelley
Literature
14N-413
(617) 253-7655
wkelley@mit.edu

Helen Elaine Lee
CMS/W - ON LEAVE
14E-316B
(617) 253-8844
helee@mit.edu

Christopher Leighton
History
E52-288
(617) 324-0541
cleight@mit.edu

Anne McCants
History
E51-291
(617) 258-6669
amccants@mit.edu

Libby McDonald
D-Lab
N51-317
617-899-1360
libmac@mit.edu

Nick Montfort
CMS/W
14N-223
(617) 324-1429
nickm@nickm.com

Kenda Mutongi
History
E51-296D
(617) 324-7730
kmutongi@mit.edu

Heather Paxson
Anthropology
E53-335R
(617) 253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

Bruno Perreau 
Global Studies & Languages
14N-321
(617) 715-5384
bperreau@mit.edu

Margarita Ribas Groeger
Global Studies & Languages
14N-220
(617) 253-4778
mgroeger@mit.edu

Ruth Perry
Literature
14N-415
(617) 253-8876
rperry@mit.edu

Kym L. Ragusa
CMS/W
14E-303
x3-7894
kragusa@mit.edu

Margery Resnick
Literature
14N-333
(617) 253-5277
resnick@mit.edu

Justin Steil
DUSP
9-515
(617) 253-2017
steil@mit.edu

Bettina Stoetzer
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 3-4771
stoetzer@mit.edu

Abha Sur
Women’s & Gender Studies/STS
14N-221b
(617) 253-8844
asur@mit.edu

KJ Surkan
Women’s & Gender Studies
14N-221B
(617) 253-8844
ksurkan@mit.edu

T.L. Taylor
CMS/W
E15-327
(617) 324-4148
tltaylor@mit.edu

Emma Teng
History
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 14E-316c
(617) 253-4536
eteng@mit.edu

Christine Walley
Anthropology
E53-335U
(617) 258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

Andrea Walsh
CMS/W
14N-214
(617) 452-2228
aswalsh@mit.edu

Maia Weinstock
Lecturer
11-400
(617) 253-2548
maiaw@mit.edu

Elizabeth Wood
History
E51-282
(617) 253-3255
elizwood@mit.edu


Visitors

 

Dr. Lorgia García-Peña, Visiting Professor 2018-2019
Hosted by Women's & Gender Studies

Dr. Lorgia García-Peña is the Roy Clouse Associate Professor of Latinx Studies  at Harvard University and the co-founder of Freedom University. She specializes in Latinx studies and Hispanic Caribbean literary and cultural studies with a special focus on the Dominican Republic and its Diaspora. Her research poses a dialogue among history, literature and cultural studies, paying close attention to questions of marginality, migration, and racial and ethnic identity formation. Dr. García-Peña’s first book The Borders of Dominicanidad: Race, Nations and Archives of Contradictions (Duke, Fall 2016) examines the ways in which Dominican national identity has been imagined and constructed through literature and history since the nineteenth century to the present in relationship to Haiti and the United States. The Borders of Dominicanidad won the 2017 National Women’s Studies Association Gloria E. Anzaldúa Book Prize, the 2016 LASA Latino/a Studies Book Award and the 2016 Isis Duarte Book Prize in Haiti and Dominican Studies.

Her current book project Translating Blackness: The Vaivén and Detours of Latino/a Colonialities in Global Perspective looks at how black Latin American migrants and their descendants grapple with various racial systems finding ways to translate racial meaning across national contexts while carving a space of belonging and representation within the nation (s) that often exclude them. The book historicizes Afrolatinidad as a productive category of contestation but one that is also restricted by colonial regimes that continue to operate in the nation.  

In addition to her current book project, Dr.García Peña is engaged in a transnational interdisciplinary public humanities project with filmmaker Medhin Paolos. The project—which they call Mind the Gap—proposes a new way to examine history from the personal stories of immigrant subjects in context. 

Dr. García Peña is the recipient of the Ford Foundations Postdoctoral Fellowship (2016), The Johns Hopkins University African Diaspora Studies Postdoctoral Fellowship (2010), the Future of Minority Studies Fellowship (2010), and the Ford Foundation Dissertation Fellowship (2006). García-Peña received a PhD in American Culture from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor and an M.A. in Spanish Language and Literatures from Rutgers University.  


Misty De Berry, pre-doctoral fellow

Misty De Berry is a Ph.D. candidate and performance artist in the Department of Performance Studies at Northwestern University. Her works emerges at the intersection of performance studies, Black Feminist thought, Marxist theory, and art history. De Berry’s academic and artistic work are committed to studying the relationship between black women, durational performance, and everyday practices in late capitalism. This particular set of interests have found its way into her dissertation, In Due Time: Performance, Debt, and Habitual Violence. There, De Berry explores how routine modes of debt and indebtedness restrict black women’s behavior across the everyday sphere and their subsequent engagement with both aesthetic and everyday performance to dismantle such routines. Prior to her doctoral work, she trained as a classical actor at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts where she studied movement, gesture, and early modern English theater. A former Visiting Assistant Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies at DePaul University, she has taught classes on Black feminist thought; black critical theory and performance; and feminist theater and social activism. Her original solo-play Milkweed, which looks at gender-based violence in the lives of black, queer women, was published in solo/black/woman: Scripts, Interviews, Essays, an anthology that received Honorable Mention for the Errol Hill Book Award from the American Society of Theatre Research. De Berry’s newest solo-play titled little sister: An Afro-Temporal Solo-Play was recently published in the Journal of Lesbian Studies’ special issue on affect, and is listed as one of the most-cited by social media in the history of the journal. In addition to her research and performance work, Misty engages in building communities through her training in Transformative Justice methods and Usui Reiki healing modalities.

 

WGS Steering Committee

2017–2018

Ruth Perry – Senior Faculty representative
Caley Horan – Junior Faculty representative
Joaquin Terrones – Lecturers' representative
Emma Atherton – Graduate Student representative
Helen Elaine Lee – WGS Director
Emily Neill – WGS Program Manager
Jennifer Greenleaf – Librarian


 

WGS Curriculum Committee

2017–2018

Diana Henderson
Andrea Walsh
Abha Sur
Helen Elaine Lee

 


 

Women Take the Reel Planning Committee

2016–2017

To Be Determined


 

Kampf Prize Committee

2016–2017

Andrea Walsh

Other members to be determined.