Who We Are

Administration

Affiliated Faculty & Lecturers

Director: 
Helen Elaine Lee
CMS/W
14E-316B
(617) 253-8844
helee@mit.edu

Program Manager: 
Emily R.Neill
14E-316a
(617) 253-2642
erneill@mit.edu

Administrative Assistant: 
Sophia M. Hasenfus
14E-316c
(617) 253-8844
shasen@mit.edu

Librarian: 
Jennifer Greenleaf 
MIT Libraries
jgleaf@mit.edu

Sandy Alexandre
Literature
14N-422
(617) 253-4450
alexandy@mit.edu

Arthur Bahr 
Literature
14N-424
(617) 253-3616
awbahr@mit.edu

Tuli Banerjee
Global Initiatives
W98-600
8-6745
tuli@mit.edu

Eugenie Brinkema
Literature
14N-408
(617) 253-3068
brinkema@mit.edu

Kimberly Juanita Brown
Visiting MLK Scholar
14N-425
(617) 253-3060

Manduhai Buyandelger
Anthropology
E53-335S
(617) 324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Chris Capozzola
History
E51-284
(617) 452-4960
capozzol@mit.edu

Andrea Campbell
Political Science
E53-461
(617) 452-2295
acampbel@mit.edu

Brittany Charlton
Women's & Gender Studies
14E-316, 3-8844
bcharlton@mail.harvard.edu

Ian Condry
Global Studies & Languages
CMS/W
14N-303
(508) 314-2567
condry@mit.edu

Sasha Costanza-Chock
CMS/W
E15-317
(607) 351-5559
schock@mit.edu

Nneka Dennie
WGS Predoctoral Fellow
14N-221b

Lerna Ekmekcioglu
History
E51-273
(617) 253-9621
lerna@mit.edu

Elizabeth Fox
CMS/W
E39-115A
(617) 253-3090
emfox@mit.edu

Mary Fuller
Literature
14N-405
(617) 253-8848
mcfuller@mit.edu

Sally Haslanger
Linguistics/Philosophy
32-D926
(617) 253-4458
shaslang@mit.edu

Stefan Helmreich 
Anthropology
E53-335Q
(617) 253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

Heather Hendershot
CMS/W
E15-324
(617) 324-4038
hshot@mit.edu

Diana Henderson
Literature
14N-418
(617) 253-5147
dianah@mit.edu

Caley Horan
History
E51-296G
(617) 324-7321
cdhoran@mit.edu

Erica C. James
Anthropology
E53-335G
(617) 253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Elizabeth Janiak
Lecturer
ejaniak@mit.edu

Caroline Jones
Architecture
3-303A
(617) 253-5932
cajones@mit.edu

Graham Jones
Anthropology
E53-335P
(617) 715-4969
gmj@mit.edu

Chivi Kapungu
Women’s & Gender Studies
14E-316
(617) 253-8844
ckapu@mit.edu

Wyn Kelley
Literature
14N-413
(617) 253-7655
wkelley@mit.edu

Sarah E. King
Women's & Gender Studies
14E-316
(617) 253-8844
seking@mit.edu

Christopher Leighton
History
E52-288
(617) 324-0541
cleight@mit.edu

Anne McCants
History
E51-291
(617) 258-6669
amccants@mit.edu

Nick Montfort
CMS/W
14N-223
(617) 324-1429
nickm@nickm.com

Heather Paxson
Anthropology
E53-335R
(617) 253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

Bruno Perreau 
Global Studies & Languages
14N-321
(617) 715-5384
bperreau@mit.edu

Ruth Perry
Literature
14N-415
(617) 253-8876
rperry@mit.edu

Kym L. Ragusa
CMS/W
14E-303, 3-7894
kragusa@mit.edu

Margery Resnick
Literature
14N-333
(617) 253-5277
resnick@mit.edu

Justin Steil
DUSP
9-515
(617) 253-2017
steil@mit.edu

Bettina Stoetzer
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 3-4771
stoetzer@mit.edu

Abha Sur
Women’s & Gender Studies/STS
14N-221b
(617) 253-8844
asur@mit.edu

KJ Surkan
Women’s & Gender Studies
14N-221B
(617) 253-8844
ksurkan@mit.edu

T.L. Taylor
CMS/W
E15-327
(617) 324-4148
tltaylor@mit.edu

Emma Teng
History
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 14E-316c
(617) 253-4536
eteng@mit.edu

Christine Walley
Anthropology
E53-335U
(617) 258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

Andrea Walsh
CMS/W
14N-214
(617) 452-2228
aswalsh@mit.edu

Maia Weinstock
Lecturer
11-400
(617) 253-2548
maiaw@mit.edu

Elizabeth Wood
History
E51-282
(617) 253-3255
elizwood@mit.edu


Visitors

 

Kimberly Juanita Brown, Visiting Assistant Professor 2017-2018
Hosted by Women's & Gender Studies and by Literature at MIT

Kimberly Juanita Brown's research engages the site of the visual as a way to negotiate the parameters of race, gender, and belonging.  Her book, The Repeating Body: Slavery’s Visual Resonance in the Contemporary (Duke University Press) examines slavery’s profound ocular construction and the presence and absence of seeing in relation to the plantation space and the women who exist there. She is currently at work on her second book, tentatively titled “Their Dead Among Us: Photography, Melancholy, and the Politics of the Visual.”  This project examines images of the dead in The New York Times in 1994 from four geographies: South Africa, Rwanda, Sudan, and Haiti. 


Nneka D. Dennie is a 2017-2018 Diversity Predoctoral Fellow hosted by Women's & Gender Studies. She is a Ph.D. Candidate in African American Studies at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Nneka utilizes
interdisciplinary methods to interpret black women's intellectual history, black radicalism, and black feminist thought. Her dissertation, “(Re)defining Radicalism: The Rise of Black Feminism and the Politics of Respectability, 1831-1895" argues that nineteenth-century black feminism is an early site of black radicalism because it advocated for black citizenship, black self-determination, and universal conceptions of human rights. It examines the work of Sojourner Truth, Maria Stewart, Mary Ann Shadd Cary, Frances Harper, Ida B. Wells, and Anna Julia Cooper in order to describe how their individual contributions promoted the construction of a shared, early black feminist tradition.

 

WGS Steering Committee

2016–2017

Ruth Perry – Senior Faculty representative
Bettina Stoetzer – Junior Faculty representative
Joaquin Terrones – Lecturers' representative
Jia-Hui Lee – Graduate Student representative
Helen Elaine Lee – WGS Director
Emily Neill – WGS Program Manager
Jennifer Greenleaf – Librarian


 

WGS Curriculum Committee

2016–2017

Diana Henderson
Lerna Ekmekcioglu
Andrea Walsh
Abha Sur
Helen Elaine Lee

 


 

Women Take the Reel Planning Committee

2016–2017

To Be Determined


 

Kampf Prize Committee

2016–2017

Andrea Walsh

Other members to be determined.