Who We Are

Administration

Affiliated Faculty & Lecturers

Director: 
Helen Elaine Lee
CMS/W
14E-316B
(617) 253-8844
helee@mit.edu

Program Manager: 
Emily R.Neill
14E-316a
(617) 253-2642
erneill@mit.edu

Administrative Assistant: 
Sophia M. Hasenfus
14E-316c
(617) 253-8844
shasen@mit.edu

Librarian: 
Jennifer Greenleaf 
MIT Libraries
jgleaf@mit.edu

Sandy Alexandre
Literature
14N-422
(617) 253-4450
alexandy@mit.edu

Arthur Bahr 
Literature
14N-424
(617) 253-3616
awbahr@mit.edu

Tuli Banerjee
Global Initiatives
W98-600
8-6745
tuli@mit.edu

Eugenie Brinkema
Literature
14N-408
(617) 253-3068
brinkema@mit.edu

Manduhai Buyandelger
Anthropology
E53-335S
(617) 324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Chris Capozzola
History
E51-284
(617) 452-4960
capozzol@mit.edu

Andrea Campbell
Political Science
E53-461
(617) 452-2295
acampbel@mit.edu

Brittany Charlton
Women's & Gender Studies
14E-316, 3-8844
bcharlton@mail.harvard.edu

Ian Condry
Global Studies & Languages
CMS/W
14N-303
(508) 314-2567
condry@mit.edu

Sasha Costanza-Chock
CMS/W
E15-317
(607) 351-5559
schock@mit.edu

Lerna Ekmekcioglu
History
E51-273
(617) 253-9621
lerna@mit.edu

Elizabeth Fox
CMS/W
E39-115A
(617) 253-3090
emfox@mit.edu

Mary Fuller
Literature
14N-405
(617) 253-8848
mcfuller@mit.edu

Kishonna Gray
Visiting MLK Scholar
14N-425
(617) 253-3060
klgray@mit.edu

Sally Haslanger
Linguistics/Philosophy
32-D926
(617) 253-4458
shaslang@mit.edu

Stefan Helmreich 
Anthropology
E53-335Q
(617) 253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

Heather Hendershot
CMS/W
E15-324
(617) 324-4038
hshot@mit.edu

Diana Henderson
Literature
14N-418
(617) 253-5147
dianah@mit.edu

Caley Horan
History
E51-296G
(617) 324-7321
cdhoran@mit.edu

Erica C. James
Anthropology
E53-335G
(617) 253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Caroline Jones
Architecture
3-303A
(617) 253-5932
cajones@mit.edu

Graham Jones
Anthropology
E53-335P
(617) 715-4969
gmj@mit.edu

Chivi Kapungu
Women’s & Gender Studies
14E-316
(617) 253-8844
ckapu@mit.edu

Wyn Kelley
Literature
14N-413
(617) 253-7655
wkelley@mit.edu

Sarah E. King
Women's & Gender Studies
14E-316
(617) 253-8844
seking@mit.edu

Christopher Leighton
History
E52-288
(617) 324-0541
cleight@mit.edu

Anne McCants
History
E51-291
(617) 258-6669
amccants@mit.edu

Channon Miller
WGS Predoctoral Fellow
14N-221b
channonm@mit.edu

Nick Montfort
CMS/W
14N-223
(617) 324-1429
nickm@nickm.com

Heather Paxson
Anthropology
E53-335R
(617) 253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

Bruno Perreau 
Global Studies & Languages
14N-321
(617) 715-5384
bperreau@mit.edu

Ruth Perry
Literature
14N-415
(617) 253-8876
rperry@mit.edu

Kym L. Ragusa
CMS/W
14E-303, 3-7894
kragusa@mit.edu

Margery Resnick
Literature
14N-333
(617) 253-5277
resnick@mit.edu

Justin Steil
DUSP
9-515
(617) 253-2017
steil@mit.edu

Bettina Stoetzer
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 3-4771
stoetzer@mit.edu

Abha Sur
Women’s & Gender Studies/STS
14N-221b
(617) 253-8844
asur@mit.edu

KJ Surkan
Women’s & Gender Studies
14N-221B
(617) 253-8844
ksurkan@mit.edu

T.L. Taylor
CMS/W
E15-327
(617) 324-4148
tltaylor@mit.edu

Emma Teng
History
Global Studies & Languages
14N-421, 14E-316c
(617) 253-4536
eteng@mit.edu

Christine Walley
Anthropology
E53-335U
(617) 258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

Andrea Walsh
CMS/W
14N-214
(617) 452-2228
aswalsh@mit.edu

Elizabeth Wood
History
E51-282
(617) 253-3255
elizwood@mit.edu


Visitors

 

Kishonna L. Gray (Ph.D., Arizona State University) is currently a MLK Visiting Scholar in Women & Gender Studies and Comparative Media Studies/Writing.  She is also the Founder of the Critical Gaming Lab at Eastern Kentucky University.  She is expanding on the work created here to develop new initiatives surrounding Equity in Gaming (www.equityingaming.com). Her work broadly intersects identity and new media although she has a particular focus on gaming.  Her most recent book, Race, Gender, & Deviance in Xbox Live (Routledge, 2014), provides a much-needed theoretical framework for examining deviant behavior and deviant bodies within that virtual gaming community.  Her work has been featured in outlets such as the Journal of Comparative Research in Anthropology and Sociology, Ada: A Journal of Gender, New Media, and Technology, Bulletin of Science, Technology, & Society, New Review of Hypermedia & Multimedia, Information, Communication, & Society, among others.  Her work has also been featured in the LA Times, Paste Magazine, Engadget, The Guardian, BET, & Blavity.  She’s a featured blogger & podcaster with “Not Your Mama’s Gamer” (http://www.nymgamer.com/). She also actively blogs on her own websites at www.kishonnagray.com and at http://lachezbippy.kinja.com/.  Follow her on Twitter @KishonnaGray and the Equity in Gaming Initiative at @equityingaming.


Channon Miller is a PhD candidate in American Studies at Boston University. She is a Hartford, CT native and a graduate of Trinity College, where she earned a BA in American Studies in 2011. Her scholarship examines black women’s history, their traditions of resistance and black feminist theory. Miller's dissertation documents the dimensions of black native and immigrant mothers ethnic border crossing and the capacity of their ties to challenge the amplification of intersecting systems of oppression in the “post-racial” context.

 

WGS Steering Committee

2016–2017

Ruth Perry – Senior Faculty representative
Bettina Stoetzer – Junior Faculty representative
Joaquin Terrones – Lecturers' representative
Jia-Hui Lee – Graduate Student representative
Helen Elaine Lee – WGS Director
Emily Neill – WGS Program Manager
Jennifer Greenleaf – Librarian


 

WGS Curriculum Committee

2016–2017

Diana Henderson
Lerna Ekmekcioglu
Andrea Walsh
Abha Sur
Helen Elaine Lee

 


 

Women Take the Reel Planning Committee

2016–2017

To Be Determined


 

Kampf Prize Committee

2016–2017

Andrea Walsh

Other members to be determined.